KAI Aso
KyushuKokonoe, Oita
Onsen ryokan (Hoshino Resorts KAI), for staying guests
Hoshino Resorts' group FAQ says it does not restrict guests with tattoos. Staff may still refuse the baths if they judge other guests could feel afraid.
Kyushu
14 listed baths in Oita. All of them state on the facility's own website or an official tourism listing that guests with tattoos can bathe, some only with conditions or in a private bath. The list includes 1 sento or bathhouse and 5 hotels or inns.
KyushuKokonoe, Oita
Onsen ryokan (Hoshino Resorts KAI), for staying guests
Hoshino Resorts' group FAQ says it does not restrict guests with tattoos. Staff may still refuse the baths if they judge other guests could feel afraid.
KyushuBeppu, Oita
Onsen ryokan (Hoshino Resorts KAI), for staying guests
Hoshino Resorts' group FAQ says it does not restrict guests with tattoos. Staff may still refuse the baths if they judge other guests could feel afraid.
KyushuYufu, Oita
Onsen ryokan (Hoshino Resorts KAI), for staying guests
Hoshino Resorts' group FAQ says it does not restrict guests with tattoos. Staff may still refuse the baths if they judge other guests could feel afraid.
KyushuKamegawa, Oita
Day-use sand bath / onsen
Beppu City’s official tourism listing has this facility-specific “tattoos permitted” tag. The listing does not specify cover size or other policy details.
KyushuBeppu Station, Oita
Local shared bath / public onsen
Beppu City’s official tourism listing has this facility-specific “tattoos permitted” tag. The listing does not specify cover size or other policy details.
KyushuBeppu Station, Oita
Local shared bath (jimo-yu)
Beppu City’s official tourism listing has this facility-specific “tattoos permitted” tag. The listing does not specify cover size or other policy details.
KyushuKannawa, Oita
Local shared bath (jimo-yu)
Beppu City’s official tourism listing has this facility-specific “tattoos permitted” tag. The listing does not specify cover size or other policy details.
KyushuKannawa, Beppu, Oita
Local shared bathhouse (jimo-yu)
Beppu City’s official tourism listing has this facility-specific “tattoos permitted” tag. It does not specify cover size or other policy details.
KyushuMyoban, Oita
Local shared bath (jimo-yu)
Beppu City’s official tourism listing has this facility-specific “tattoos permitted” tag. The listing does not specify cover size or other policy details.
KyushuHamawaki, Oita
Municipal health onsen / bathing facility
Beppu City’s official tourism listing has this facility-specific “tattoos permitted” tag. The listing does not specify cover size or other policy details.
KyushuBeppu, Oita
Hot-spring bath
Tattoos must be fully covered with cover stickers, using the facility's paid cover stickers.
KyushuBeppu, Oita
Onsen hotel or inn
Tattoos must be fully covered with cover stickers, using the facility's paid cover stickers.
KyushuHorita, Oita
Ryokan with private family onsen
Beppu City’s official tourism listing labels this specific facility “Tattoos permitted.” This tourism listing labels the overall facility tattoo-permitted and describes the day-use option as private family baths; we list only the private bath access.
KyushuBeppu Station, Oita
Reservable private family onsen
Beppu City’s official tourism listing labels this specific facility “Tattoos permitted.”
Checked 9 Oct 2026. Rules can change, so check the official link on each page before you go. How to read a listing · Sources and method. We have not visited these baths ourselves.